Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Shape Layer Disappearing in AE when converting to 3D Layer

Nov 28, 2017 Nov 28, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey Guys and Girls, first time one here, I've spent a few hours looking around online for a guide or anything to help out and I'm a bit lost and don't seem to have found the solution to my problem as of yet! I'm also fairly new to all of this so probably trying to do something well out of my ability at the moment

The issue:

I vectorize a design (a half curve) in Illustrator

I import design into AE like so:

Step 1.PNG

I add design to Composition, and right click on the new layer and click Create Shapes from Vector Layer

After doing this, I set a trim path, adjust it all so it's doing the animation I require and check it's all working ok, which it is:

Step 3.PNG

Step 4.PNG

The issue arises when I then right click on it and go to select 3D Layer - the shape disappears all together and I'm left with just blank space.

Step 5.PNG

Now, when I delete the trim path the 3D shape appears, and when I undo that action the shape disappears again.

Also, when I go back to 2D (remove the 3d selection from the box beside the layer name) it appears again like this:

Step 6.PNG

Any help will be so greatly appreciated! Thanks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 29, 2017 Nov 29, 2017

The problem is Trim Paths. Delete that and your extrusion should show up. Trim Paths is essentially an animated alpha matte and that is not supported with the C4D or the Ray-traced rendering engine.